RSS

Father’s Achievement

26 Oct

I watched some emotional videos the other day; and they made me think, what can I do to make my life more meaningful, influential, … memorable? I considered what I have done and what I could do to make my effect on those around me more valuable. And, maybe more importantly, how that effect can be measured or recognized; how can I determine if I did lead my life in the greatest way possible? I began to perceive what I want from my life. I recognized criteria that will reveal the effectiveness my life or anyone’s life.

I came to this conclusion: My life’s accomplishment will be the greatest I could possibly want, if after I am gone, I am missed. That’s it; being missed. After I’m gone, if those that I love notice I am not here, then I have done good. At that moment, my legacy will be realized. I began reflecting on events and interactions in my life. I wondered if those moments would be remembered as I remembered them. I wondered if each of those “learn from me” instances would be valuable. I wondered if my presence would be missed by the ones I love.

In that reflection on who I am, in who I have become, in my achievements, in my transgressions, in my reached and missed goals, in all the life I enjoyed, in all the love I have shared, in the lessons I learned and taught; it was observing those moments that I realized how meaningful, influential, memorable, and great my Dad’s life was.

Dad, you are missed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 26, 2014 in Memories, Writing

 

Leave a comment